A helping hand

I am by no means, a professional teacher. I do however have a level 3 in childcare, and am pretty good at the crafty side of things, if I don’t say so myself. I am a fond lover of Pinterest, I use it at least once every day for an idea for something!

In these worrying times, there are a lot of things that can play on your mind, and I would like to help out in at least one way if I can.
I can imagine quite a few parents, who aren’t in to their arts and crafts, and don’t have a clue how to entertain a child or more all day inside! (Obviously you can go in the garden, and for a walk as long as you follow the guidelines!) but spending the foreseeable future in the same four walls seems a little daunting.

Remember when you were a kid, and you used to play schools. Well I did anyway. Well now Is your chance! Make a daily routine, make a register if you must! HAHA! Pretend your the teacher, and boss it!
Get on Pinterest and find some ideas of how to entertain the kids, inside, in the garden etc or you can just come back to my blog daily, and my Instagram, for ideas. Because I’m making this promise, that I will have your back, with easy activities etc every day! Some things you may not have, but I can answer any questions, link you with the websites I brought things from, and you can improvise with other things you may have around the house.

If you read my previous blog post, you’ll see my daily routine, I strongly advise you make one! Even if you don’t follow if everyday, its there as a back up! Having a routine also really helps children, having one with photos/ pictures is the best! So they can see what they are doing next. You can refer to it, and let them know throughout the day what is coming up etc.

So on my routine you’ll see that I have 4 activities a day. All around an hour each time.
Try and make the activities different each time for example:

Activity One –

  • Read some stories
  • Sing some nursery rhymes
  • Simple maths problems
  • Board Game
  • Dancing
  • Fine motor skills
  • Role play

Activity Two – (outdoors)

  • Role Play
  • Running Around – chase, hide and seek
  • Just free outdoor play, make use of outdoor equipment
  • Throwing and catching, kicking a ball
  • Water play
  • Chalk, Bubbles etc.

Activity Three – (arts and crafts)

  • Painting
  • Playdoh
  • Mark making
  • Colouring
  • Sticking and Gluing
  • Baking
  • Any other crafting ideas

Activity Four (CHILDS CHOICE)
This activity is solely for your child to choose what they’d like to do for an hour. They could revisit something you’ve already done today. Or choose something new, if it was up to Arabella she would choose a board game, or something crafty and Matilda would probably play with babies.

I also have an hour of screen time on my routine for the day, sometimes this might be more, sometimes this might be less. Its up to you how you look after your kids! No judging! There have been days, before where the girls have sat in front of the tv for 3 hours, so I can work, and sometimes that’s what you have to do!

So if you’re interested in my crafts and ideas, you can turn my post notifications on, on Instagram. Just click on the following button under my bio. Select notifications and turn my posts to on, and my stories if you want too see more. Also you can subscribe to my blog, where I will go into detail more, about the crafts and activities we do each day.

Leave a comment